Loading Events

Coming Soon

Event Calendar

« May 2024 » loading...
M T W T F S S
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Wed 29

IF (U)

May 24th - May 30th
Wed 29

The Kite Runner

May 28th - June 1st
Wed 29

Love Lies Bleeding (15)

May 29th 7:45 pm
Thu 30

Rude Science!

May 30th
Thu 30

Animation Workshop

May 30th 10:30 am

Event Search

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

The Old Oak (15)

29th September 2023 - 12th October 2023

 

Directed by Ken Loach, THE OLD OAK is the story of a village in the Northeast of England, where the mine closed, and people feel deserted by the system. Many young ones have left and what was once a thriving, proud community struggles to keep old values alive.

But there is growing anger, resentment, and a lack of hope. Houses are cheap and available. This makes it an ideal location for the Syrian refugees that have been accepted by Britain in recent years. How will the Syrians be received? And what will be the future for the last remaining pub in the village, The Old Oak?

Cert: 15

Running time: 1hr 53mins

AD Audio Description available

DS Descriptive Subtitles: Thursday 5th October at 5pm & Monday 9th October at 7.45pm



Details

Start:
29th September 2023
End:
12th October 2023
Event Categories:
, , ,

Venue

Cinema
United Kingdom

Other

Price:
Evenings: £8.50/£9.50 (Premium seats)
Mornings and matinees: £7.50/£8.50 (Premium seats)
Concessions and members discounts apply
Show Times:
*Please note: Film starts at advertised time*
Friday 29th September at 7.45pm
Saturday 30th September at 7.45pm
Sunday 1st October at 3pm & 6.30pm
Monday 2nd October at 7.45pm
Tuesday 3rd October at 11am, 5pm & 7.45pm
Wednesday 4th October at 7.45pm
Thursday 5th October at 2pm, 5pm (with Descriptive Subtitles) & 7.45pm
Friday 6th October at 7.45pm
Saturday 7th October at 4.30pm
Sunday 8th October at 7pm
Monday 9th October at 7.45pm (with Descriptive Subtitles)
Tuesday 10th October at 11am
Wednesday 11th October at 7.45pm
Thursday 12th October at 2pm & 5pm

Event Reviews

  • Henry

    Excellent film. Willingness to acknowledge the pain of two communities and see that there is still hope despite the racism which disguises the real and shared needs of the indigenous community (destroyed as a pit village) and refugees whose country has been destroyed by war. A film of pathos over which I shed tears but came out hopeful. Mr Loach put me through the wringer. Thankyou.


Write a Review